Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Transcript: 11/7/2017

TOPIC: Who's NaNo-ing? What other challenges or online initiatives do you find useful?


Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Transcript: 10/31/2017

TOPIC: The sometimes sad, scary real world vs. the world of your imagination.  How do you separate the two . . . or do you?


Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Transcript: 10/24/2017

TOPIC: What other art forms influence your work as a children's book creator? Film? Music?
Or . . . ?


Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Transcript: 10/17/2017

TOPIC: Best of the year (so far!): which 2017 books are on your personal shortlist?


Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Transcript: 10/10/2017

TOPIC: How do you like your endings: happy or merely hopeful? Does every story call for neat, clear-cut resolution?


Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Transcript: 10/3/2017

TOPIC: We all feel a need to respond to recent disasters and tragedies. Please share charities/relief organizations you support. 


Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Transcript: 9/26/2017

TOPIC: How and when do you know what your story is about--truly, madly, deeply about? Are you ever surprised?


Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Transcript: 9/19/2017

TOPIC: We all need a little self-care from time to time. What is it about *your own work* that gives you the most joy/comfort?


Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Transcript: 9/12/2017

TOPIC: It's quarterly check-in time! Share what's new with you since June.


Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Transcript: 9/5/2017

TOPIC:  Empathy is our watchword as children’s book people. Share tips for investing your work with compassion. 


Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Transcript: 8/22/2017

TOPIC: In honor of the dog days of summer in the northern hemisphere, share favorite kidlit dog stories. (Oh, okay, cats, too!)


Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Transcript: 8/15/2017

TOPIC: The end (of your manuscript) is near! How do you wind up your story in a satisfying way? Do you leave room for sequels?


Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Transcript: 8/1/2017

TOPIC: It's the middle of the year and some of us have middle-of-the-project blues! How do you manage the middle muddle?


Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Transcript: 7/25/2017

TOPIC: Your MS is done! Time to submit. Or is it??? How do you know something is finished? Or if it should be abandoned?


Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Transcript: 7/18/2017

TOPIC: We're 8! Revisiting our first topic - why children's literature (reading, writing, illustrating, editing, etc)? Discuss! 


Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Transcript: 7/11/2017

TOPIC: It's conference season! What are your favorite conference take-aways and how do you implement craft advice?


Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Transcript: 7/4/2017

TOPIC: Today we declare our independence from a single topic and declare this one chat an open mic


Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Transcript: 6/27/2017

TOPIC: Saved from last week: "The rules" of craft. Do they change? Do you break them once you know them? Discuss . . . again!


Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Transcript: 6/13/2017

TOPIC: It's quarterly check-in time! What have you accomplished since March? What's going on right now, and what's on tap?


Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Transcript: 6/6/2017

TOPIC: Do you have tips for using humor in your work? Are there stories where it is more effective/doesn't work?


Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Transcript: 5/30/2017

TOPIC: What classics (or soon to be classics) do you turn to for comfort or inspiration or a creative jolt?


Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Transcript: 5/23/2017

TOPIC: Do you still blog? Tweet? Use Instagram? Do authors/illustrators still need to focus on building a platform?


Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Transcript: 5/16/2017

TOPIC: Which craft issues pop up regularly for you? Which deserve the most attention (and future #kidlitchat topics)? Voice? Plot? Or . . .?


Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Transcript: 5/9/2017

TOPIC: What are your go-to inspirational quotes? Words to live by from kidlit or beyond? Attribute where possible!


Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Transcript: 5/2/2017

TOPIC: It's Children's Book Week! Let's celebrate by tweeting our favorite recent releases.


Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Transcript: 4/25/2017

TOPIC: Do you use humor in your writing/illustrating? Have any favorite examples of great use of humor (expected or unexpected)?


Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Transcript: 4/18/2017

TOPIC: There's been a raft of recent adaptations of kid's books to TV/movies. What's working? What books would you like to see?


Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Transcript: 4/11/2017

TOPIC: For many, it's Spring Break. How do you refresh and re-inspire yourself? Is it time off... or intense time working? Or?


Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Transcript: 4/4/2017

TOPIC: It's National Poetry Month! Does poetry inform your work? Do you read/write it? Have favorites?


Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Transcript: 3/28/2017

TOPIC: What is your take on "issues books" on difficult or under-examined subjects for young readers? Are we getting it right?


Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Transcript: 3/21/2017

TOPIC: Word love! Share your favorite word; create a 3-word poem on the spot; or tell how wordplay informs your work. 


Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Transcript: 3/14/2017

TOPIC: It's quarterly check-in time! Share what you're working on plus progress since December!


Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Transcript: 3/7/2017

TOPIC: What tech-y solutions are you using to keep in touch with colleagues these days (other than Twitter)?


Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Transcript: 2/28/2017

TOPIC: Let's talk the state of the business. Do you see trends or changes or areas that confuse or concern you? Or...?


Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Transcript: 2/21/2017

TOPIC: What's your favorite tech platform for promoting your work? Have you tried anything new in the past year?


Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Transcript: 2/14/2017

TOPIC: In honor of the day, share the things you LOVE about the work you do.


Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Transcript: 2/7/2017

TOPIC: What are your tips for writing authentic dialogue? Is it different for historical fiction? For talking animals? Or...?


Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Transcript: 1/31/2017

TOPIC: How do you create time and space to work? #kidlitchat


Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Transcript: 1/24/2017

TOPIC: Help us celebrate the ALA Youth Media Awards! Which of your favorites made the list . . . and which *should* have?


Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Transcript: 1/17/2017

TOPIC: In 7+ years of #kidlitchat, we have seen trends and controversies come and go. What will be the main concerns for kidlit in 2017?


Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Transcript: 1/3/2017

TOPIC: Do you have career resolutions for 2017? Share away (or invent some so you can be held accountable later!)