Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Transcript: 12/20/2016

TOPIC: #kidlitchat office party! Bring snacks and any personal or professional stories you want to share. We'll be at the punch table!


Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Transcript: 12/13/2016

TOPIC: Which books made your personal "Best of 2016" list? Which titles from 2016 are on your TBR list? #kidlitchat


Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Transcript: 12/6/2016

TOPIC: It's quarterly check-in time! Share updates on WIPs and goals achieved. Any career surprises since September?


Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Transcript: 11/29/2016

TOPIC: How does research influence your writing or illustrating? Do you have researching tips? Tricks?


Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Transcript: 11/22/2016

TOPIC: As we enter the season of thanks and giving, please share top charities, especially those serving children and families.


Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Transcript: 11/15/2016

TOPIC: Back to [craft] basics. What's your solid ground: word choice? plot? character? . . . or?


Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Transcript: 11/8/2016

TOPIC: Stressed out much? Tonight we're asking you to post your go-to inspirational quotes and soothing photos of happy things.


Tuesday, November 1, 2016

Transcript: 11/1/2016

TOPIC: Suspense is a fact of life these days, so how do you use antici...pation and suspense to drive your stories?


Tuesday, October 25, 2016

Transcript: 10/25/2016

TOPIC: Enough is enough--but how do you know? When is a project ready? When is
it time to move on?


Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Transcript: 10/18/2016

TOPIC: Stuck in a dry spell, at a crossroads, or drowning in ideas--what's the quickest way out of creative limbo?


Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Transcript: 10/11/2016

TOPIC: Marketing is part of our job. Let's talk branding, marketing, and promotion. Tips? Successes? Share away!


Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Transcript: 9/27/2016

TOPIC: Tech tune-up time! What systems/software are absolute musts? What's on your wish list? What needs to be invented?


Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Transcript: 9/20/2016

TOPIC: What are your tips for world building? Does it matter if your story is contemporary or fantasy?


Tuesday, September 13, 2016

Transcript: 9/13/2016

TOPIC: Superheroes! Magic! How do you work with the non-real-world elements of a story? Any tips?


Tuesday, September 6, 2016

Transcript: 9/6/2016

TOPIC: It's time for a progress report! Share what you've accomplished since our last quarterly check. 


Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Transcript: 8/30/2016

TOPIC: What do you consider your strengths as a writer/illustrator? And how did you develop those strengths?


Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Transcript: 8/23/2016

TOPIC: What are your favorite writing exercises? Also, if you have any weird writing rituals, we'd love to know!


Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Transcript: 8/16/2016

TOPIC: It's back to school time! What are your tips for school visits/presentations, study guides, and other ties-to-school?


Tuesday, August 9, 2016

Transcript: 8/9/2016

TOPIC: Do you find recurring themes in your work? Are there common influences that transcend the topics you choose?


Tuesday, August 2, 2016

Transcript: 8/2/2016

TOPIC: Your creative voice: we're told it's the most important thing . . . Have you found yours? Where was it hiding?


Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Transcript: 7/26/2016

TOPIC: How do you focus on work in a world full of distractions (news, travel plans, jobs, etc.)?


Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Transcript: 7/19/2016

TOPIC: We've been chatting for SEVEN years! What's changed, what's remained the same for you (and the business) in that time?


Tuesday, July 12, 2016

Transcript: 7/12/2016

TOPIC: What's your advice about advice? How do you give or receive notes/advice/critiques in a way that works?


Tuesday, July 5, 2016

Transcript: 7/5/2016

TOPIC: What keeps you from doing your best work? What are the monsters in your closet? And how do you defeat them?


Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Transcript: 6/28/2016

TOPIC: Vacation time is play time! Share favorite/most effective ways to experiment creatively with craft or work routines.


Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Transcript: 6/21/2016

TOPIC: Deadlines! Love 'em or hate 'em, external or self-imposed, they exist. How do you deal with both kinds?


Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Transcript: 6/14/2016

TOPIC: Once again, we must help children cope with horror. Share books that support the effort to explain the unexplainable.


Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Transcript: 6/7/2016

TOPIC: It's quarterly check-in time! What have you checked off in the last three months? What new goals are driving you forward?


Transcript: 5/31/2016

TOPIC: Happy accidents. Chance meetings. Spooky coincidences. Share the
role serendipity has played in your work and career.

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Transcript: 5/24/2016

TOPIC: To celebrate the unofficial start of summer in the US, we're sharing favorite travel- or vacation-themed books.


Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Transcript: 5/17/2016

TOPIC: Let's talk about openness and transparency: in contracts, in our business, in our business conversations and in our work.

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Transcript: 5/10/2016

TOPIC: Summer movie season approaches! Which kidlit books deserve film
treatment? Which deserved better than they got?

Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Transcript: 5/3/2016

TOPIC: It's Children's Book Week! How can authors and illustrators help to keep the reading momentum going year round?


Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Transcript: 4/26/2016

TOPIC: When LIFE happens, does your creative work take a back seat--or become your happy place? How do you deal?


Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Transcript: 4/19/2016

TOPIC: How do you define your role as social advocate in your professional life? When and why would you take up a cause? 


Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Transcript: 4/12/2016

TOPIC: Beverly Cleary turns 100 today! To celebrate, let's talk authors/illustrators who influenced childhoods (and careers!).


Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Transcript: 4/5/2016

TOPIC: Do you use poetry in your writing process? As an exercise or in crafting sentences or for imagery or...?


Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Transcript: 3/29/2016

TOPIC: Creativity is a slippery concept--what is the ONE defining aspect for you? What starts your creative engine?


Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Transcript: 3/22/2016

TOPIC: Time to check your self-publishing opinion meter: yea, nay or holding steady? How are industry changes influencing you? 


Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Transcript: 3/15/2016

TOPIC: Sadness. Illness. Death. How do you approach these difficult topics in your work for children? Head on? Metaphorically?


Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Transcript: 3/1/2016

TOPIC: Do you use animals as characters or in plot, to develop other characters, illustration/writing devices, or...?


Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Transcript: 2/23/2016

TOPIC: Does your creativity depend on a daily routine? Or...? How do YOU approach the arena? Coffee? Music? Favorite hat?


Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Transcript: 2/16/2016

TOPIC: In honor of Valentine's Day... let's talk about how you work love (romantic, platonic, familial) into your stories.

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Transcript: 2/9/2016

TOPIC: Which personal development investments offer the best return: conferences, webinars, online challenges, craft books, or?


Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Transcript: 2/2/2016

TOPIC: Best advice for coping with inevitable creative burnout: power through, walk away, or . . . ?


Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Transcript: 1/26/2016

TOPIC: Genre, sub-genre, age range: who decides? You? Your editor? Booksellers? How fluid are the boundaries?


Tuesday, January 19, 2016

Transcript: 1/19/2016

TOPIC: Let's talk plot! Do you start with story structure? Do you think of big scenes first? Do you have tips and tricks to share? Go!


Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Transcript: 1/12/2016

TOPIC: ALA awards were announced yesterday! Let's celebrate, discuss surprises, and think of new categories we'd like to see.


Tuesday, January 5, 2016

Transcript: 1/5/2016

TOPIC: What's at the top of your agenda for 2016? Can chat help? Are there topics you'd like us to explore here? Please share!